How to Become a Cloud Security Specialist?

How to Become a Cloud Security Specialist?

With the spread of cloud computing, cyber-attacks are also spreading. The protection provided by cloud security helps prevent data theft, unwanted data deletion, or data breaches. Cloud security professionals are responsible for cloud security’s planning, operational, and smart elements. If you are aiming to dive deeper into the career of cybersecurity and would like to acquire skills to protect sensitive data, a cloud security specialist could be the right next step.

Who is a Cloud Security Specialist?

A Cloud Security Specialist is an individual who specializes in the security of cloud computing systems and the protection of sensitive data stored in the cloud. They are responsible for implementing security measures and protocols that ensure the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of cloud data. Their main goal is to ensure that cloud systems are protected against security threats such as cyber-attacks, data breaches, and unauthorized access. They must have an in-depth understanding of cloud security technologies and be proficient in security best practices and compliance requirements such as the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS), the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) & the Federal Risk and Authorization Management Program (FedRAMP).

They also play a crucial role in the planning and execution of security audits, risk assessments, and incident response. A Cloud Security Specialist is an essential role in any organization that relies on cloud computing for their data storage and processing needs.

How to Become a Cloud Security Specialist?

Most organizations that recruit cloud security specialists look for those candidates who own with a computer science bachelor’s degree and understands information security, programming, or associated field. Formal training is complemented through IT certifications, hands-on experience, an understanding of languages, including Python, and knowledge about popular DevOps tools used in the ecosystem of the cloud service provider. 

Any blend of CompTIA Security+, Certified Ethical Hacker, and CISSP could be just what you want in the field of cloud security.

  • CompTIA Security+ Course: CompTIA Security+ is a credential recognized across the globe. It validates the essential skills required to work on core security roles and pursue careers in IT security. CompTIA Security+ Certification demonstrates hands-on capabilities and is the most basic cybersecurity certification that emphasizes hands-on, realistic skills and ensures that security professionals are better organized to solve a wider range of today’s complex problems.

  • Certified Ethical Hacking: Administered by the EC-Council, the Certified Ethical Hacker – CEH certification is another major globally recognized certification exam’ designed to assist professionals in presenting as Ethical Hackers. In addition, it allows you to develop your skills in the areas of penetration testing, detection and prevention & attack approaches.

  • CISSP Certification Course: Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is one of the highly sought-after and globally-recognized credentials and is managed by the International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium (ISC)². TheCISSP certification is an advanced, vendor-neutral credential that certifies the technical skills and practical experience of IT security professionals in executing and managing security programs.

  • CCSP Certification: The CCSP (Certified Cloud Security Professional) certification is a globally recognized program that verifies a professional’s expertise in securing cloud computing solutions. This CCSP certification is designed for security professionals who are responsible for securing their organization’s cloud infrastructure and applications. CCSP certified professionals have demonstrated their ability to implement, manage and assess cloud security measures, including data protection, identity and access management, security operations, and security architecture.

  • AWS Certification: AWS Certification is a recognition awarded by Amazon Web Services (AWS) to individuals who have demonstrated proficiency in the design, deployment, and management of cloud-based solutions on the AWS platform. There are several levels of certification, including the Certified Solutions Architect, Certified Developer, Certified SysOps Administrator, and Certified DevOps Engineer. The AWS certifications are designed to validate an individual’s knowledge and expertise in using AWS services to build and manage cloud-based applications and infrastructure.

  • Azure Cloud Certification: Azure Cloud Certification is a globally recognized program offered by Microsoft to help individuals demonstrate their expertise in Microsoft Azure cloud computing platform. The Microsoft Azure certification program offers several levels of certification such as Fundamentals, Associate, Expert, and Specialist certifications. Candidates can choose the level of certification that best suits their skills, experience, and career goals. The certification process involves passing one or more exams and demonstrating hands-on skills and knowledge of the Azure platform.

Salary Range: Cloud Security Specialist

Well, there is no particular listing about cloud security specialists, according to, the estimated total pay for a Cloud Security Engineer is $125,050 per year in the United States area, with an average salary of $102,945 per year.

Job Outlook: Cloud Security Specialist

For the 12-month period ending in September 2022, employers listed 769,736 openings for cybersecurity positions or jobs requiring cybersecurity skills. Employer demand for cybersecurity workers grew 2.4 times faster than the overall rate across the U.S. economy, according to Cyberseek. 

Job Positions similar to Cloud Security Specialist
  • Network security specialist
  • Cloud engineer
  • Penetration tester
  • Cybersecurity specialist

Summing up:

Cloud security has evolved since it was first used or leveraged in the IT world. It has become an efficient way to reduce costs and accelerate the movement of IT resources directly to powerful, organization-centric systems. This has enabled companies to use their assets in the most efficient way and to tap into the talent of experts who work together to strengthen the overall level of security of the organization regarding legal, personal or customer data based on protected data vaults.

This is the right time for you to acquire the skills related to cloud security. We at Vinsys always stand tall with the learners aiming to learn for the growth of their careers. Talk to our experts now and get in detail information about the best certification training available for you.

For your convenience schedule, contact us on:

Vinsys, an ISO 9001, 27001 and CMMIDEV/3 certified organization, is a leading IT services and solutions provider that offers professional services to corporates and businesses in various industries. With over two decades of experience, we have built a reputation for delivering high-quality solutions that empower organizations to achieve their goals and enhance their performance. Our services include IT Training & Certification courses, Software Development, Consulting, Digital Learning, Foreign Language Services and Customized Solutions tailored to meet the unique needs of each client.