Configuring Cisco MDS 9000 Series Switches (DCMDS) v3.5

CCNP Data Center Certification

Deploy/Troubleshoot the Cisco Nexus 9000 Series Switches for supporting performance, resiliency, scalability, and enhanced operations for data centers with the 4-day Configuring Cisco MDS 9000 Series Switches course. Our seasoned instructors cover implementing, managing, and troubleshooting MDS 9000 Series Switches for highly available and scalable storage networks while helping you secure Cisco's specialist and professional credentials.


  993 Ratings

               2348 Participants

Group Discount

Upto 15%

4-days instructor-led training

Official Cisco courseware  + Cisco certified trainers

Conceptual + Scenario-based training approach

24x7 access to learning resources

Configuring Cisco MDS 9000 Series Switches Course Overview

Vinsys' Cisco DCMDS v3.5 training explains deploying and using capabilities like Virtual Storage Area Networks (VSANs), Role-Based Access Control (RBAC), N-Port Virtualization (NPV) fabric security, zoning, automation with NX-API, Slow Drain Analysis, SAN analytics, Fibre Channel over TCP/IP (FCIP) tunnels, and more. 

You learn to configure/implement platform features and troubleshooting techniques pertaining to Fibre Channel domains, firmware upgrades, zones, and zone mergers.

The Configuring Cisco MDS 9000 Series Switches course also prepares you for the 300-625 exam, required for earning Cisco Certified Specialist-Data Center SAN Implementation and CCNP Data Center certifications.

Course Curriculum


  • Technical Decision-makers and Network Architects.
  • Individuals aspiring for modern-day complex data center operations roles.
  • Those willing to complete Cisco Certified Specialist-Data Center SAN Implementation and CCNP Data Center credentials.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Fundamental-level understanding of data storage hardware components and protocols, from Small Computer System Interface (SCSI) to Fibre Channel, network protocols covering Ethernet/IP, routing, and switching. 
  • Cisco-recommended Pre-course Training: Implementing and Administering Cisco Solutions (CCNA) & Understanding Cisco Data Center Foundations (DCFNDU).

Course Objectives

  • Learning to discover/describe the Cisco Multilayer Director Switch (MDS) platform of multilayer switches and directors.
  • Provisioning Cisco MDS Switches.
  • Describing key product features of the MDS platform.
  • Describing/implementing automation on MDS Switches.
  • Configuring/implementing the Cisco MDS switches and platform features.
  • Resolving issues and troubleshooting FC domains, zones/zone merges, switch boot, and firmware upgrades.

About the Certification - 300-625 DCSAN : Implementing Cisco Storage Area Networking

Cisco Certified Specialist-Data Center SAN Implementation, a specialist certification, approves your knowledge of Cisco MDS 9000 series switches, deployment, implementation, management, monitoring, and troubleshooting. The following exam is necessary: 

  • 300-625 DCSAN

CCNP Data Center, a professional accreditation, validates your or your teams' skills with data center solutions. The following concentration and core exams must be cleared:

  • 300-625 DCSAN
  • 350-601 DCCOR or its equivalent

Read More..

Get in touch

By providing your contact details, you agree to our Privacy policy

Training Options


Instructor-Led Session

  • 4-days Instructor-led Online Training
  • Experienced Subject Matter Experts
  • Approved and Quality Ensured Training Material
  • 24*7 Leaner Assistance And Support


Customized to your team's need

  • Blended Learning Delivery Model (Self-Paced E-Learning And/Or Instructor-Led Options)
  • Course, Category, And All-Access Pricing
  • Enterprise-Class Learning Management System (LMS)
  • Enhanced Reporting For Individuals And Teams
  • 24x7 Teaching Assistance And Support 

Course Outline

  • Cisco MDS 9700/9300/9200/9100 Hardware
  • 32-Gb Fibre Channel
  • Cisco NX-OS and DCNM
  • Fibre Channel and FCoE Architecture
  • Power-On Auto-Provisioning
  • Cisco DCNM and using Cisco DCNM 11.x
  • RBAC, Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting (AAA)
  • Virtual SANs
  • Port Channels/VSAN Trunking
  • Zoning/Smart Zoning
  • Device Aliases
  • Inter-VSAN Routing
  • Fibre Channel Fabric Security
  • Building SAN Extensions
  • Inter-VSAN Routing
  • Slow Drain Analysis
  • SAN Analytics/Telemetry Streaming
  • Cisco Secure Boot
  • Cisco MDS NX_APIPython API
  • Ansible
  • Cisco DCNM SAN Reports/Alarms
  • SAN Analytics/Telemetry Streaming
  • Troubleshooting Fibre Channel Domains and Zones/Zone Merges
  • Booting/Upgrading Issues
  • Setting Up DCNM
  • Exploring DCNM-SAN Client/DCNM Device Manager
  • Configuring/Using RBAC, RBAC with DCNM-SAN Client and Device Manager
  • Managing VSANs/Fibre Channel Domain
  • Configuring NPV/N-Port Identification Virtualization (NPIV), Interfaces, Device Aliases, and Zoning
  • Exploring/Automating with NX-API
  • Performing Slow Drain Analysis with Cisco DCNM
  • Configuring SAN Analysis/SAN Telemetry Streaming, FCIP Tunnels, FCIP High Availability, and IVR for SAN Extension
  • Troubleshooting Zoning/Zone Merges

Course Reviews


Vinsys is a globally admired Corporate and Individual training provider with 25+ years of verifiable experience. Our instructor-led online courses, internationally-acclaimed expertise, customizable skill-development programs, and 24*7 learner support ensure the most comprehensive upskilling arrangement, a must for capitalizing on valuable Cisco Data center opportunities.

Yes, you benefit from Cisco’s unique combination of expert instructions and hands-on practice through enterprise-grade Cisco learning technologies, data center equipment, and software.

Please note, 300-625 is merely a concentration exam. Such exams allow you to customize your credentials as per your chosen technical areas of focus. To achieve the CCNP Data Center accreditation, you must also clear the 350-601 DCCOR exam covering core data center technologies.

300-610 DCID, 300-615 DCIT, 300-620 DCACI, 300-630 DCACIA and 300-635 DCAUTO. 

These earned credits can be used for recertification, as barring the CCIE, exams for all other credentials are valid only for three years.